Skip to main content

Two UCF Students Recognized for Outstanding Undergraduate Research

December 16, 2020
The Computing Research Association (CRA) has an annual award for outstanding undergraduate research. “This award program recognizes undergraduate students in North American colleges and universities who show outstanding potential in an area of computing research.”

UCF IT Graduate Finishes 2nd in The Nation

November 20, 2020
Michael Roberts (a current MS in digital forensics student and, UCF IT graduate) finished second in the nation at the 2020 DOE CyberForce Competition hosted by Argonne National Laboratory.

Congratulations to Dr. Mubarak Shah

May 5, 2020
Congratulations to Dr. Mubarak Shah who was elected to the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida “For his contributions in video surveillance, including object detection, tracking and action recognition”.

Congratulations to Dr. Mubarak Shah

April 21, 2020
Congratulations to Dr. Mubarak Shah, who was named an AI 2020 most influential scholar for his “outstanding technical achievements with lasting contribution and impact.” This recognizes Dr. Shah as being one of the top 10 most-cited scholars in the top venues for Computer Vision.

CS student Gary Hoppenworth wins Goldwater Scholarship

March 30, 2020
CS undergraduate student Gary Hoppenworth has won a Scholarship from the Barry Goldwater Scholarship & Excellence in Education Foundation (see

Congratulations to the UCF Collegiate Cybersecurity Competition Team!

March 29, 2020
Congratulations to the CCDC Team and Coach Tom Nedorost for winning the At Large Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition Regional on Sunday, March 29th. In this year’s competition the University of Alaska-Anchorage came in 2nd, and Dakota State University finished 3rd. UCF’s Team now advances to compete in the National CCDC Championship which will be held virtually from May 22-24.

Congratulations to Dr. Charles Hughes

February 27, 2020
Congratulations to Dr. Charlie Hughes who has been selected to be inducted in the National Center for Simulation Hall of Fame this year!